Undergraduate Teaching 2019-20

Part IIA engineering areas

Part IIA engineering areas

Not logged in. More information may be available... Login via Raven / direct.

If you wish to qualify in a specific engineering area, at least six modules from your total of ten must fall within one of the engineering areas defined by the Faculty Board.

The title of the engineering area for which you are qualified will appear on each of your Part IIA and IIB transcripts. In some cases, you may be qualified for more than one engineering area, in which case all will appear on your transcript. It is not essential that your engineering area at Part IIB is the same as that at Part IIA.

NB. the module syllabus pages are the definitive source of information about pre-requisites for each module.  A summary is also given on the syllabus index page.

Engineering area


Mechanical engineering

Dr H R Shercliff

Energy, sustainability and the environment

Professor S Hochgreb

Aerospace and aerothermal engineering

Professor WN Dawes

Civil, structural and environmental engineering

Professor A McRobie

Electrical and electronic engineering

Professor A Flewitt

Information and computer engineering

Dr J Sayir

Electrical and information sciences

Professor M Smith

Instrumentation and control

Professor M Smith


Dr A J Kabla

General Engineering

If you do not wish to choose six modules from an engineering area you may instead qualify in Engineering (i.e. General Engineering). Students intending to qualify in General Engineering may choose any set of modules subject to the restrictions given in COMET. 

In common with the other engineering areas General Engineering is accredited by one or more of the Professional Engineering Institutions.  For further information see the Accreditation of the MEng.

Further advice

For advice on engineering areas and module choices go first to your Director of Studies. The staff listed above will be happy to provide expert advice on their Engineering Areas.

General queries about Manufacturing Engineering should be sent to the MET Course Administrator; detailed queries about academic course content may be sent to Dr Ronan Daly.

Last updated on 11/10/2019 12:18